Skip to content
CardiffCountsCardiff, in numbers.Local help →

Cardiff · Wales

Projects

Cardiff council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Named local schemes and plans, with the responsible body and the latest stage established by the source checked. A proposal, funding announcement and completed project are different things.

Cardiff Central to Cardiff Bay

Cardiff Crossrail: first phase

A new tram connection is planned between Cardiff Central and the Bay, improving access across the city.

Delivery programme published; completion not verified · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Cardiff Council and Transport for Wales

Latest evidence: The council programme says enabling works start in June 2026 and main works in July 2026. Those dates are a programme, not proof of completion.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from the city name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Cardiff Crossrail →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Connect the Bay’s new destinations to everyday journeys →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

How to track delivery →

Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff Bay

Atlantic Wharf redevelopment

The Bay redevelopment includes a new indoor arena and support for surrounding businesses.

Arena works reported underway · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Cardiff Council and development partners

Latest evidence: The council describes the redevelopment as a strategic priority and says arena works are underway. Grant eligibility is separate from approval of any individual award.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from the city name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Atlantic Wharf Growth Fund →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Connect the Bay’s new destinations to everyday journeys →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Waungron Road, Llandaff, Cardiff

Waungron Road homes and transport interchange

The former recycling-centre site beside Waun Gron Park station is being turned into council homes and an interchange linking bus, rail, walking and cycling.

Building reached its highest point; not yet reported complete · evidence dated 2026-10-07

Responsible body: Cardiff Council and Wates Residential

Latest evidence: The council reports that the seven-storey development has topped out. The planned scheme includes 44 council homes and a transport interchange. Topping out marks the main structure reaching its highest point, not homes being ready to occupy or the interchange opening.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
The council reports £7.7 million of Welsh Government Social Housing Grant support. This is not stated to be the total scheme cost.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named location or council-wide remit does not establish benefits in every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Waungron Road homes and transport interchange →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Open the homes and transport links as a usable whole →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

What this local evidence covers

3 reviewed plans and projects

1 have a source-dated stage; 1 have some funding evidence; 0 have some cost evidence. These counts do not prove that funding or costs are complete.

Check each project →

0 verified ward links

Project locations cannot be treated as a map of who benefits. Each record explains any verified ward association.

Read the sources and limits →
What is still missing

The reviewed local schemes are a selected evidence collection, not a complete council capital programme.

Current service capacity, incomes, waiting lists, school demand and project outcomes need additional verified local evidence before firm claims can be made.

Project locations have not been matched to official ward boundaries. No ward-specific delivery claims are inferred.

Costs, funding and benefits are only reported where the selected official evidence states them; blank fields are not zero.