Skip to content
CardiffCountsCardiff, in numbers.Local help →

Cardiff · Wales

Community life

Cardiff council area. Every figure carries its own date.

A place is more than its average house price. The census shows who lives here and some of the pressures households face.

People aged 65 or over

14.5%

21 March 2021 · Cardiff

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All usual residents

52,498 out of 362,308.

Source and method →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.9%

21 March 2021 · Cardiff

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

21,365 out of 362,308.

Source and method →

Households facing at least one measured disadvantage

51.1%

21 March 2021 · Cardiff

The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All households

75,245 out of 147,333.

Source and method →

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages

19.4%

21 March 2021 · Cardiff

The census checks education, employment, health and housing. This is not a measure of income or poverty.

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

All households

28,607 out of 147,333.

Source and method →

People aged 16+ with no qualifications

16.3%

21 March 2021 · Cardiff

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Residents aged 16 and over

48,399 out of 296,313.

Source and method →

People aged 16+ with a degree or equivalent

40%

21 March 2021 · Cardiff

Show the workings

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Residents aged 16 and over

118,529 out of 296,313.

Source and method →

Different needs within the area

People reporting bad or very bad health

2.1% to 10.5%

People reporting bad or very bad health ranged from 2.1% in Cathays to 10.5% in Caerau — a gap of 8.4 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 28 of 28 current wards with comparable figures.

Residents described their own health. Differences in age matter, so this is a prompt to investigate needs, not a score for local health services.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People reporting bad or very bad health · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Cathays2.1%45421,821
Gabalfa2.8%2689,415
Radyr3%2157,092
Lisvane and Thornhill3.5%36810,476
Cyncoed3.6%41111,391
Pontprennau and Old St Mellons3.8%44411,723
Rhiwbina3.9%44911,469
Pentyrch and St Fagans4%3669,096
Heath4%50712,600
Llandaff4.5%3988,778
Penylan4.6%59912,911
Butetown4.8%58312,127
Plasnewydd5.1%93218,277
Canton5.2%83216,141
Whitchurch and Tongwynlais5.6%87915,817
Riverside5.7%78513,754
Grangetown6.1%1,27220,818
Adamsdown6.7%78311,610
Pentwyn7.2%1,17016,199
Llanishen7.3%75610,421
Rumney7.8%6848,792
Llandaff North7.9%6648,425
Fairwater8.4%1,09513,066
Trowbridge8.7%1,50217,231
Llanrumney8.8%1,02411,599
Splott9.1%1,28514,142
Ely9.2%1,41315,428
Caerau10.5%1,23011,696
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 65 or over

3.4% to 28.2%

People aged 65 or over ranged from 3.4% in Cathays to 28.2% in Rhiwbina — a gap of 24.8 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 28 of 28 current wards with comparable figures.

Age helps locate demand for accessible homes, transport and support. Being older does not itself mean someone needs care.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 65 or over · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Cathays3.4%73721,822
Adamsdown5.3%61111,609
Gabalfa6.3%5949,415
Plasnewydd7.4%1,36018,277
Butetown8.6%1,03812,126
Grangetown9%1,87520,818
Splott10.2%1,44314,142
Riverside10.8%1,48313,756
Pontprennau and Old St Mellons11.3%1,32811,722
Trowbridge12.2%2,09517,231
Canton13.3%2,14816,134
Ely13.5%2,07715,428
Caerau14.6%1,70611,696
Llanrumney15.2%1,76311,599
Llandaff North15.3%1,2888,430
Pentwyn15.7%2,55016,198
Fairwater16.5%2,15213,066
Radyr19.5%1,3837,095
Heath19.8%2,49412,599
Penylan20.4%2,63912,911
Rumney20.5%1,8048,791
Llanishen20.9%2,17610,420
Lisvane and Thornhill21.5%2,25610,475
Whitchurch and Tongwynlais22.5%3,55915,820
Pentyrch and St Fagans22.5%2,0509,094
Cyncoed22.7%2,59111,392
Llandaff23.5%2,0658,776
Rhiwbina28.2%3,23311,469
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

People aged 16+ with no qualifications

4.5% to 30.9%

People aged 16+ with no qualifications ranged from 4.5% in Cathays to 30.9% in Ely — a gap of 26.4 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 28 of 28 current wards with comparable figures.

Formal qualifications are only one part of someone's skills. Training decisions also need current vacancies, employment and residents' experience.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

People aged 16+ with no qualifications · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Cathays4.5%93820,893
Radyr7.6%4265,627
Gabalfa8.1%6768,386
Lisvane and Thornhill8.5%7408,720
Cyncoed9%8189,136
Llandaff9.5%6987,376
Pentyrch and St Fagans10.3%7727,485
Rhiwbina10.9%1,0399,492
Penylan11.3%1,19710,618
Heath11.3%1,15310,173
Plasnewydd11.7%1,93016,460
Pontprennau and Old St Mellons12%1,1169,301
Butetown12.4%1,32010,639
Whitchurch and Tongwynlais13.8%1,78212,948
Canton15.5%2,01913,041
Llanishen16.3%1,3788,437
Riverside18.1%2,04911,340
Adamsdown18.4%1,8279,919
Grangetown20.5%3,43516,796
Llandaff North22.3%1,4816,652
Fairwater22.6%2,37010,491
Pentwyn22.7%2,78312,286
Trowbridge24.6%3,18612,938
Rumney24.9%1,7547,053
Splott25.8%2,86611,106
Llanrumney27.7%2,4578,864
Caerau30.6%2,7238,904
Ely30.9%3,46711,226
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages

7.9% to 35%

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages ranged from 7.9% in Radyr to 35% in Caerau — a gap of 27.1 percentage points.

21 March 2021 · 28 of 28 current wards with comparable figures.

These households met at least two census conditions covering education, employment, health and housing. This is not an income or poverty measure.

See each ward and the workings

These are separate ward percentages, not an average of them. Boundaries: May 2026. Missing or differently defined figures are excluded from this range and stay visible on the ward pages.

Households facing two or more measured disadvantages · 21 March 2021
WardShareCountPopulation or households covered
Radyr7.9%2222,821
Lisvane and Thornhill9.5%4304,505
Pentyrch and St Fagans10.3%3853,756
Cyncoed10.3%4304,188
Rhiwbina10.7%5385,033
Llandaff11.5%4343,759
Heath11.8%6095,173
Pontprennau and Old St Mellons12.6%6174,910
Penylan13.2%6945,275
Cathays13.6%8386,170
Butetown14.7%8065,488
Gabalfa14.8%3712,510
Whitchurch and Tongwynlais15.5%1,0586,832
Canton16.6%1,1757,096
Plasnewydd18.6%1,4387,721
Riverside18.9%1,1656,168
Llanishen19.3%8974,637
Grangetown20.2%1,7788,784
Rumney23.9%8593,601
Llandaff North23.9%8333,479
Pentwyn24.4%1,5886,513
Fairwater24.7%1,4525,877
Adamsdown27.3%1,1234,112
Splott28%1,7096,114
Llanrumney28.2%1,3574,808
Trowbridge28.4%1,9897,009
Ely34.4%2,1466,235
Caerau35%1,6654,758
Source and method →
What could respond to this pattern →

Local places and initiatives

Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff Bay

Atlantic Wharf redevelopment

The Bay redevelopment includes a new indoor arena and support for surrounding businesses.

Arena works reported underway · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: Cardiff Council and development partners

Latest evidence: The council describes the redevelopment as a strategic priority and says arena works are underway. Grant eligibility is separate from approval of any individual award.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
No official project-to-ward mapping has been verified; no ward allocation is inferred from the city name.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Atlantic Wharf Growth Fund →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Connect the Bay’s new destinations to everyday journeys →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Waungron Road, Llandaff, Cardiff

Waungron Road homes and transport interchange

The former recycling-centre site beside Waun Gron Park station is being turned into council homes and an interchange linking bus, rail, walking and cycling.

Building reached its highest point; not yet reported complete · evidence dated 2026-10-07

Responsible body: Cardiff Council and Wates Residential

Latest evidence: The council reports that the seven-storey development has topped out. The planned scheme includes 44 council homes and a transport interchange. Topping out marks the main structure reaching its highest point, not homes being ready to occupy or the interchange opening.

Next thing to establish: What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
The council reports £7.7 million of Welsh Government Social Housing Grant support. This is not stated to be the total scheme cost.
Area covered
No verified current ward footprint is assigned. The named location or council-wide remit does not establish benefits in every ward.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Waungron Road homes and transport interchange →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Open the homes and transport links as a usable whole →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Look beneath the area average →