Skip to content
Cardiff Counts — Cardiff, in numbers.Local help →

Cardiff · Wales

People and living standards

Cardiff council area. Every figure carries its own date.

Cardiff

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Cardiff local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 296,941 in 1991 to 381,516 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Cardiff council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 305,345 people in 1996; 381,516 people in 2025. 24.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Cardiff council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991296,941
1992297,429
1993299,185
1994299,085
1995300,764
1996305,345
1997307,321
1998308,601
1999310,320
2000311,443
2001310,088
2002312,021
2003313,246
2004317,099
2005321,001
2006323,766
2007328,196
2008332,790
2009337,656
2010341,402
2011345,442
2012348,084
2013349,982
2014350,949
2015351,600
2016352,982
2017354,348
2018355,125
2019357,137
2020360,287
2021359,824
2022369,640
2023379,539
2024382,028
2025381,516
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Cardiff council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 66,318 people in 1996; 64,682 people in 2025. 2.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Cardiff council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199161,978
199263,033
199364,266
199464,886
199565,384
199666,318
199766,424
199866,507
199965,272
200064,353
200163,276
200262,166
200361,028
200460,289
200559,909
200660,135
200760,497
200860,786
200961,356
201062,071
201163,074
201263,868
201364,585
201465,040
201565,499
201666,093
201766,385
201866,550
201966,308
202066,409
202165,974
202266,189
202366,407
202465,845
202564,682
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Cardiff council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 192,534 people in 1996; 259,619 people in 2025. 34.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Cardiff council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991189,133
1992188,313
1993188,603
1994187,908
1995188,957
1996192,534
1997194,472
1998195,697
1999199,334
2000201,622
2001201,736
2002205,015
2003207,751
2004212,564
2005216,986
2006219,589
2007223,577
2008227,599
2009231,518
2010234,020
2011236,627
2012237,193
2013237,611
2014237,171
2015236,708
2016236,773
2017237,442
2018237,731
2019239,236
2020241,558
2021240,942
2022249,521
2023258,175
2024260,076
2025259,619
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Cardiff council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 46,493 people in 1996; 57,215 people in 2025. 23.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Cardiff council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199145,830
199246,083
199346,316
199446,291
199546,423
199646,493
199746,425
199846,397
199945,714
200045,468
200145,076
200244,840
200344,467
200444,246
200544,106
200644,042
200744,122
200844,405
200944,782
201045,311
201145,741
201247,023
201347,786
201448,738
201549,393
201650,116
201750,521
201850,844
201951,593
202052,320
202152,908
202253,930
202354,957
202456,107
202557,215
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 362,310 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cardiff · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh34,9839.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African13,8963.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups14,5064%
White286,93179.2%
Other ethnic group11,9943.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 346,090 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cardiff · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White293,11484.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups10,0312.9%
Asian/Asian British27,8858.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British8,2012.4%
Other ethnic group6,8592%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 305,353 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Cardiff · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White279,62491.6%
Mixed6,0842%
Asian/Asian British12,0804%
Black/Black British3,8981.3%
Chinese/Other3,6671.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 18.9% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Cardiff council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,618 per person in 1997; £21,059 per person in 2024. 119% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Cardiff council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,618
19989,833
199910,319
200010,882
200111,296
200211,755
200312,110
200412,457
200512,613
200613,160
200713,443
200813,931
200913,993
201014,153
201114,326
201214,551
201314,768
201415,218
201515,784
201615,869
201716,594
201817,369
201917,906
202017,865
202118,994
202219,307
202319,853
202421,059
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Cardiff council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -9.4% in 1997; -18.9% in 2024. 9.5 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Cardiff council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-9.4
1998-9.2
1999-8.8
2000-8.6
2001-8.7
2002-7.1
2003-7.1
2004-8.2
2005-10.3
2006-10.1
2007-12.4
2008-11.5
2009-12.6
2010-12.4
2011-12.1
2012-13.8
2013-15.7
2014-15.8
2015-17
2016-17.6
2017-15.8
2018-14.9
2019-15
2020-14.9
2021-13
2022-15.9
2023-18.8
2024-18.9
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Households facing several disadvantages

19.4%

21 March 2021 · Cardiff local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16.3%

21 March 2021 · Cardiff local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.9%

21 March 2021 · Cardiff local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£272,000

July 2026 · Cardiff local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£1,177

August 2026 · Cardiff local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.